Disaccord

Once again, I was That Asshole. After everyone else in the room had nodded in agreement, I hesitantly began to voice my opinion of disaccord by mumbling, “… Well, no, actually… it’s, uh…”

I wanted to agree and harmonize with the murmured “Yeah”s of consensus and mimic the bobblehead nods with a furrowed brow to the person to my right and the person to my left. I did. I wanted to. I tried. I replayed what they said in my head a couple times after mentally articulating my response and I tried to find a way that my response was irrelevant or that they were right but it just wasn’t.

This was the story of my life.

Leave a Reply

